Market House History
The following is from a report by J. W. Yocum:
“The Columbia Market House was built under the authority of an ordinance that was offered by Robert Crane, April 17th, and adopted by Council June 19th, 1868. At the same meeting plans were presented, and the floor plan of Mr. Sloan and the front plan of Mr. Hobbs were approved and accepted. The market committee consisting of Messrs. S.S. Detwiler, David Muller, and Robert Crane, together with W.W. Upp, constituted the building committee for 1868. In 1869, Alex Craig succeeded David Mullen, shoes term had expired.
The contract for building the market house was awarded to Michael Liphart, August 1st, 1868 for $17,000 and work commenced at once. Samuel Wright was the Borough Regulator. There was some changes in the original plans and these, with allowances for extra work increased the total cost to $19,656.77. The building was reported as completed, accepted by Council, the final voucher drawn, and the Building Committee discharged September 17, 1869.
The market house is 118 feet long and 80 feet wide, It is furnished with 180 stalls in the inside, and 37 under the projecting room on the outside.”
From its inception to today, this facility remains a key part of the downtown experience. Today, in a partnership with the Borough of Columbia and CHI St. Joseph Children’s Health the market has been restored to continue its thriving heritage. The market is open Wednesdays and Saturdays.
For more information, CLICK HERE to access the market house website.